In a major shakeup, 15 judges of high courts transferred

In a big reshuffle in the higher judiciary, as many as 15 judges of 11 high courts were transferred on Tuesday. The Law Ministry put out a list of the transfers and postings on Twitter.

The transfers were recommended by the Supreme Court collegium around a fortnight back.

There was a bigger reshuffle some years ago involving 23 judges of high courts.

According to the list tweeted by the Department of Justice, Justice Jaswant Singh of the Punjab and Haryana High Court stands transferred to the Orissa High Court, while Justice Sabina of the Rajasthan HC has been sent to the Himachal Pradesh High Court.

Justice Sanjaya Kumar Mishra of the Orissa High Court has been transferred to the Uttarakhand HC. Justice Manindra Mohan Shrivastava of the Chhattisgarh High Court stands transferred to the Rajaasthan High Court.

Justice Ahsanuddin Amanullah of the Patna HC has been transferred to the Andhra Pradesh High Court, while Justice Ujjal Bhuyan of the Bombay High Court has been sent to the Telangana High Court.

The Gujarat High Court’s Justice Paresh R Upadhyay stands transferred to the Madras HC, while Justice M S S Ramachandra Rao of the Telangana HC has been sent to the Punjab and Haryana High Court.

The Calcutta HC’s Justice Arindam Sinha has been sent to the Orissa HC. Justice A M Badar of the Kerala High Court stands transferred to the Patna High Court.

Justices Yashwant Varma, Vivek Agarwal Chandra Dhari Singh and Ravi Nath Tilhari (all Allahabad High Court) have been transferred to Delhi HC, Madhya Pradesh HC, Delhi HC and Andhra Pradesh HC respectively.

Justice Anoop Chitkara of Himachal Pradesh HC has been sent to the Punjab and Haryana HC.

The notification on the transfers have been issued.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint.
our App Now!!

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Legal Updates/News

Daughters to inherit self-acquired properties of fathers dying without a will: Supreme Court | Latest News India

The Supreme Court on Thursday said the daughters of a male Hindu dying without a will would be entitled to inherit self-acquired and other properties obtained in the partition by the father. The court also said that such daughters would get preference over other collateral members of the family such as sons and daughters of […]

Read More
Legal Updates/News

Sameer Wankhede’s father files contempt plea against Nawab Malik in Bombay High Court

Dhyandev Wankhede, father of former Narcotics Control Bureau (NCB) zonal director Sameer Wankhede, on Wednesday moved a contempt plea in the Bombay High Court, claiming that despite an undertaking given to the court last month, NCP Minister Nawab Malik continues to defame his family and has made contentious remarks on December 28, 2021, January 2 […]

Read More
Legal Updates/News

Explained: The debate over marital rape

The Delhi High Court is hearing a challenge to the constitutional validity of the ‘marital rape immunity’ provided for in the Indian Penal Code. The case has put the spotlight on crucial issues concerning consent, the extent of state control on female sexual autonomy, and correcting historical prejudices in law. What is the case about? […]

Read More